Ken Fogel

What Do You Do? What’s Your Job?

Photograph of Ken Fogel at San Francisco Java1 conference.

I am a full time instructor in the Computer Science Technology program at Dawson College and a part time instructor in the Concordia University Continuing Education Computer Institute. At Dawson I am also the chair person and program coordinator for the program and at Concordia I act as a curriculum consultant.

How Did You Get Where You Are?

From the day I brought home an Apple][+ in 1980 I have been obsessed with technology. I have always considered it my responsibility as an educator in a skills based program to keep myself up to date and on the bleeding edge of technology. Outside of the classroom my interest in the Internet of Things is one of my hobbies.

How Did You Come by Payara Server/Payara Micro?

I first encountered Payara Server from an article called Running Java EE applications with Payara Micro on the Raspberry Pi by Steve Millidge. I had just started experimenting with the Grove Pi+ system and I found the project presented in the article an excellent starting part. The article generated random data to portray stock market information. I changed that to take readings from a temperature sensor.

How Are You Using the Payara Platform Now?

All of the code that I write today is for my courses. In one course I use Arquillian from Red Hat for server side testing. For the past five years I have had a problem where by testing on a remote server using GlassFish always took between 90 – 100 seconds before NetBeans displayed the results of the tests. Embedded testing took about 30 seconds so that was what I used in class. My contacts amongst the developers at Arquillian were baffled by my results. I was working on Windows and they admitted that there was not a Windows machine in the office. It worked fine on Red Hat Linux and there should not have been any difference on Windows.